January 27, 2016

Obligatory Award Eligibility Post

Not that I think I could possibly win, but if you are able to nominate books and authors for award consideration (either being a member of WSFS or SFWA), I would very much appreciate a nomination! Being considered for such a prestigious award would be an absolute honor, and I’m happy to say that I am eligible for award nomination this year.

And if you cannot nominate my books for any of the following awards but still want to support me as an author, spread the word about my book! If you enjoyed either The Brass Giant or The Mechanical Theater, the best thing you can do is let people know. Whether that’s writing a review on Amazon, gifting a copy to a friend, requesting a copy at the local library, or rattling on about automatons and clockwork engineering to your general practitioner next time you visit, every little bit helps.

Read more about the awards I’m eligible for below:

Hugo Awards

Best Novel: The Brass Giant
Best Novella: The Mechanical Theater

Voting for the awards is open to all members of the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS), and to become a member all you have to do is buy a membership in that year’s Worldcon. It is not necessary to actually attend the convention. A “supporting membership,” the cost of which varies from year to year (in 2015 it costs US$40; in 2016 it costs US$50), is all you need to join WSFS.

Nominations are open to members of the current year’s Worldcon, the members of the past year’s Worldcon, and, starting with the 2012 Hugo Awards, the members of the following year’s Worldcon. The final ballot is open only to members of the current year’s Worldcon. You do not have to attend the Worldcon in order to vote. Each person may cast only one nominating ballot even if that person is a member of more than one Worldcon. A special category of Supporting Membership is available for people who wish to vote but cannot afford to attend the convention. Supporting Membership also entitles you to all of the official Worldcon publications for that year, and entitles you to participate in the vote to select the site for the Worldcon to be held two years hence. Each Worldcon sets its own membership rates.

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

The John W. Campbell Award uses the same nomination and voting mechanism as the Hugo, even though the Campbell Award is not a Hugo.

Like the Hugo Awards, the Campbell Award voting takes place in two stages. The first stage, nomination, is open to anyone who had a Supporting or Attending membership in the previous, current, or following year's Worldcon as of January 31. For Sasquan, this means members of Sasquan (the 73rd World Science Fiction Convention in San Antonio), MidAmeriCon II itself, and Worldcon 75 (Helsinki) can nominate any eligible author.

To be able to vote for the award, you must be a member of MidAmeriCon II (the 74th World Science Fiction Convention in Kansas City, MO). If you are not a member of MidAmeriCon and wish to vote, you must purchase a supporting membership or an attending membership before January 31.

Nebula Awards

Novel: The Brass Giant
Novella: The Mechanical Theater

Only SFWA members may nominate and vote for the Nebula Awards.

A work must be nominated by an Active, Lifetime Active, Associate or Lifetime Associate member (with no fiduciary interest–which means, not the writer, not the editor, the agent, publicist,) during the nomination period, which runs November 15 of the eligibility year through February 15 of the following year.  An author doesn’t have to be a member of SFWA in order for her work to be considered. The six works in each category with the greatest number of nominations become the finalists for the Nebula Awards for that year.

Deadline for nomination: February 15th.

No comments:

Post a Comment